top of page
  • Writer's pictureMayor of Waverley

Mayor's Diary: May 22

Updated: Jun 29, 2022


Since becoming Mayor of Waverley, I have had a busy month of engagements across Waverley. Take a look at what I've been up to below...


Friday 27 May

Today the Mayoress and myself visited St. Mary’s School in Chiddingfold to attend a Queen’s Jubilee Tea Party. It was a gloriously sunny day and the 200 well-behaved children made an amazingly colourful spectacle. They were proudly dressed in red, white and blue, all wearing crowns that they had made themselves.

Groups of them gave well-rehearsed demonstrations of dancing around the May-Pole with not a ribbon out of place. This was followed by some excellent singing of the specially composed Jubilee songs and the National Anthem in which the whole school joined in enthusiastically.

I presented prizes to the most attractive Jubilee “Crowns” for each year-group plus awarding an overall winner. Then the Mayoress presented prizes for the best Jubilee cakes. These had been designed and baked by the pupils and judged earlier in the day by members of the local WI.

We then adjourned for Tea with the Headteacher, and the Head-Boy and Head-Girl. There was much expectation and excitement to see which cake I would select to try first. A well-organised and quintessentially English end to the day!


Wednesday 25 May - am

The Mayoress and I went to view the Red Phone Box Gallery on The Green at Frensham. which was decorated by one of my charities, Creative Response.

We were very impressed by the many varieties of artistic insects and bugs which made up the display, all of which were produced by clients of Creative Response... This demonstrated the success of using Art to help people get their lives back on track.

Since the Phone Box was just outside St. Mary’s Infant school, we called in to meet the Head Teacher and greet “Queenie” who was part of the school’s jubilee work and going to replace the insects in the red Phone Box at the weekend.




Wednesday 25th May - pm

I attended the Art Exhibition 70 glorious Years by students of Broadwater and Charterhouse at the Godalming Museum. There were clever depictions of how things had changed over the last 70 years by overlaying photographs from the different eras. There was also a wide variety of styles in painted work and I was impressed by some of the ultra-modern art on exhibition. This is the first time that the two schools have got together in this fashion and it is to be hoped that such co-operation will continue.




Sunday 22nd May -am

This morning I attended the Farnham Farmers’ Market, held in the central car park, where he helped out at the Tea Tent which was run by Creative Response, one of my charities. I was joined by the Mayor of Farnham who was looking for some refreshment. I then toured the vibrant market and chatted to some of the long-term stall-holders.



Sunday 22nd May -pm

I attended the Farnham Sustainability Festival in Gostrey Meadow where I met a number of Climate and Food sustainability Groups. This was organised by FTC in conjunction with the Farnham Community farm. I looked at all the electric bikes and also the Donate a Bike stall. I was impressed with truly Organic Cotton handkerchiefs and clothing and discussed tree palming with Green Up Britain who gave me a visiting card containing wild flower seeds.



Saturday 21 May

Accompanied by the Mayoress, I attended the Bazzaz activity day for Beavers and Rainbows at Merrist Wood. Along with 4 other Surrey borough Mayors, we were shown round by Sam, a Lord Lieutenant’s Cadet. There were over 3,000 participants in what was a very lively affair. Each group brought an activity that they had designed and made. These varied from air-powered mini-paper rockets, wobbly boards that demanded team-work to get a marble through a maze, cross bow, catapults and dart guns at targets and a model Pig Race. Regretfully the my pig came 3rd!! It was enthralling and very refreshing to see so many well-behaved youngsters rushing about enjoying themselves without a mobile phone in sight!



Thursday 19 May

Accompanied by the Mayoress, I attended the hand-over of 4 new houses built by Brookworth Homes Ltd. The keys were formally given to the Mayor by Gavin Rowley, their Managing Director. These will be social housing for rent and will help to fill a great need in the Borough for this type of accommodation. Afterwards, I was able to tour inside of the houses and was impressed by the high-quality finish and the good size of the kitchens.


To find out more about my year as Mayor keep visiting my blog https://mayorwaverley.wixsite.com/2021 or go to www.waverley.gov.uk/mayor.


If you would like to donate to my charities go to: JustGiving Waverley Mayor.



26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page