top of page
  • Writer's pictureMayor of Waverley

Spring Challenges as Waverley Mayor

Unfortunately, as many of us know COVID-19 is still very active...


Over the last month or so, I have had several civic appointments cancelled, and having caught coronavirus myself, it took hold and lasted about 12 days before I got that all important negative result.

However, despite the pandemic the Mayoress and I have managed to attend some very interesting and prestigious events over the past few months. Some of my highlights were, planting a commemorative tree in the High Lane estate at Haslemere and the investiture of the new High Sherriff at Guildford Cathedral. The Cranleigh Youth Council also came to our chamber and I presented them with some well earned certificates.

Luckily it was a very sunny day when I opened the new season of Bowls at Holloway Hill, and despite not playing for about 25 years, I managed to get near to the jack. It is the clubs 100th Birthday next year.

The Godalming Scouts celebrated St Georges day at The Burys field and the Godalming Town Mayor, Jacquie and I were there to praise the young people and volunteers, for some of their achievements - including walking to the event from Guildford.

Charterhouse was the venue for Godalming Choral Society who sang and entertained us. This was later followed by a very funny production of 'Spamalot'.


Following my visits to Haslemere and Farnham, I attended the Sport Godalming awards to present awards and certificates to many young people and volunteers for outstanding sporting achievements.


I then, at the end of March started working at my three charities - doing my #LaboutOfLove, #CharityChallenge. I started, at A Place To Be, joining in with the young people, making things and discussing various topics. I did however decline when asked to do backflips and cartwheels.

My next visit was to Skillway, a remarkable charity that assists challenged young people to gain skills that can be used to find employment. I was there all day and I admired the dedication, patience and skills of the teaching staff. They have many engineering and woodworking tools including lathes and welding equipment. It bought back many memories of when I was an engineer who also qualified as a toolmaker.


Finally, I went to Hydestile resident animals who house injured wildlife and nurse them back to health. My job, as voted for on social media, was to clean out all there cages. I was surprised at just how much mess hedgehogs made, and unfortunately on waking one large hog, it bit me! Fortunately, I was wearing gloves so no damage was done...

All my chose charities are based locally in our Waverley Community and deserve are support. Due to the cancelation of my planned events, I have not raised as much money as I would have liked - so if you have not donated please consider donating now. You can give via my JustGiving page here. Thank you for your support in advance…





19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page