top of page
  • Writer's pictureMayor of Waverley

My Labour of Love at A Place To Be...



Last Friday, I was very excited to start my #LabourOfLove, #CharityChallenge - doing some hard graft at each of my three chosen charities.


So, at about 7pm I turned up at A Place To Be the youth club in Haslemere. I was greeted by the youth workers and they ran through all the activities they had planned for the night. I was pleasantly surprised to see so many young people arriving and joining in and it was obvious that they all enjoyed the social interaction with their friends.


I was introduced to various activities from arts and crafts to team ball games. I had long conversations with lots of the youngsters there which all wanted to know about the Waverley Mayor's role. I was surprised to learn that some of them came from as far as Guildford but wanted to keep up friendships they formed at past schools.


I joined in with the activities, but declined when they asked me to do backflips and cartwheels - I must look fitter than I feel!! I was very impressed with their enthusiasm and when I explained about my charity work, several said they would like to do a project to raise funds for these charities. I was there until the evening activities finished, which seemed to pass very quickly.


I would like to thank the staff for such a fun, relaxed evening plus for their hard work in setting up these workshops, and their obvious dedication.

Unfortunately due to COVID-19, I have been unable to hold fundraising events this year, so if you would like to donate to my charities in the next few weeks I would appreciate the donations.


You can give via my JustGiving page here. Thank you for any funds you can give…


To find out more about my year as Mayor keep visiting my blog https://mayorwaverley.wixsite.com/2021 or go to www.waverley.gov.uk/mayor.



14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page