top of page
  • Writer's pictureMayor of Waverley

Waverley Borough Council - Long Service Awards




I recently attended Waverley Borough Council's Long Service Awards and was pleased to give awards to staff members who have been working for the council for 20-30 years.


It was wonderful to celebrate the achievements of those members of staff who have reached such a milestone.

The COVID-19 pandemic has affected all of us, impacting on our everyday lives, our friends and family, but also, of course, our workplaces too and for those of us who have been working in the public sector, the challenges have never been more apparent.

This makes it even more noteworthy to be able to celebrate the many years of service staff have given the council but also the community as a whole.

I was fortunate in working for Surrey Police for some 43 years, and unfortunately the only reason I left was because of redundancy. During that time and indeed even now, friendships were formed that still last today.

One thing I have learnt is that good employers and employees respect each other and form a bond. In many respects, I always thought of the Police as being part of a family and Waverley Borough Council is the same. I was first elected in 2003 but lost my seat in 2007. Coming back in 2019 I found it was like coming home. I knew many people at Waverley, and they went out of their way to welcome me back.

I have often found that a happy and dedicated work force, as has been shown recently, go the extra mile putting any problems to one side particularly in a crisis. There is no doubt that dedication is reflected in those who received these awards.

The dedication shown is not just within the council itself, but to serve the community and support all those with problems, be they debts, environmental or mental health issues. I have seen many responses where a problem is raised, and the answer has been yes, when the easiest course would have been to say no.

As Mayor, I am very fortunate in leading a Borough with staff that want to support me and other leaders, with guidance and knowledge. Experience is only built up over time. To be able to turn to an experienced Officer knowing that their advice will solve many of your doubts develops trust and confidence.

On behalf of both Waverley Borough Council and the community, congratulations to those staff members who received an award - thank you for your hard work and dedication to this Borough.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page